The Board

Board of Directors

Russell Higgins AO

Non-executive Chairman (Independent) BEc, FAICD

Russell Allan Higgins joined the Board in 2011 and was appointed Chairman on 1 July 2018. He is also a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Russell is an experienced company director who has worked at very senior levels of both government and private sectors. Russell has extensive experience in the energy sector and in the development of economic and fiscal policy, both in Australia and internationally. He is also Chairman of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure Ltd and Telstra Foundation Ltd. He was previously a non-executive Director of APA Group, Telstra Corporation Ltd, Ricegrowers Ltd and Leighton Holdings Ltd.

Russell had a highly-acclaimed career with the Commonwealth of Australia Public Service and was Chairman of the Prime Minister’s Energy Task Force from 2003 to 2004. Prior to this, he was Secretary and Chief Executive Officer, Department of Industry, Science and Resources; after being Executive Director, Resources and Energy Group, Department of Primary Industries and Energy; and previously had held various positions in Treasury and the Department of Finance, and worked at the OECD in Paris.

In addition, Russell is a former Chairman of Snowy Hydro-Electric Scheme, Cooperative Research Centre for Coal in Sustainable Development, APEC Energy Working Group; a former non-executive Director of Export Finance and Insurance Corporation, CSIRO, Austrade, Australian Industry Development Corporation, Australian Biodiesel Group Ltd, Australian Sports Commission; and a former member of the Australian Government Joint Economic Forecasting Group, National Grid Management Council and COAG Gas Reform Task Force. In 2006-07, Russell was a member of the Prime Ministerial Task Group on Emissions Trading.

Anne Brennan

Non-executive Director (Independent) BCom(Hons), FCA, FAICD

Anne Bernadette Brennan joined the Board in 2011. She is currently Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Anne is an experienced company Director who has a chartered accounting and corporate background. She is currently a non-executive Director of Charter Hall Group, Nufarm Ltd, Rabobank Australia and New Zealand Ltd, Tabcorp Ltd (observer pending regulatory approval) and Spark Infrastructure Group. She was previously a non-executive Director of Echo Entertainment Group Ltd, Metcash Ltd and Myer Holdings Ltd.

Anne brings strong financial credentials and business experience to the Company, having worked in a variety of senior management roles in both professional accounting firms and large corporations.

During her executive career, Anne was the Finance Director of Coates Group and the Chief Financial Officer of CSR Ltd. Prior to her role at CSR, she was a partner of KPMG, Andersen and Ernst & Young.

Anne is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) from University College Galway.

Chris Cuffe AO

Non-executive Director (Independent) BCom, FCA, FFin, FAICD

Christopher Edgar Cuffe joined the Board in 2016 and is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee. He has more than 25 years of experience in building successful wealth management practices. Most notably he joined Colonial First State in 1988 and became its CEO two years later, leading the company from a start-up operation to become Australia's largest investment manager.

In 2003 Chris became the CEO of Challenger Financial Services Group Ltd and subsequently headed up Challenger's Wealth Management business. He is now involved in a portfolio of activities including a number of directorships, managing public and private investments and in various roles assisting the non-profit sector.

Chris is currently Chairman of Hearts & Minds Investments Ltd and a non-executive director of Global Value Fund Ltd and Antipodes Global Investment Company Ltd. He was previously a non-executive Director of Class Ltd.

In 2007 Chris was inducted into the Australian Fund Manager's Hall of Fame for services to the investment industry.

Roger Davis

Non-executive Director (Independent) BEc(Hons), MPhil(Oxon), FCPA

Roger Andrew Davis joined the Board in 2012. He is currently Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

Roger is a Rhodes Scholar and holds an Honours degree in Economics from the University of Sydney. He completed his academic studies at Oxford University with a Master of Philosophy degree.

His extensive executive career includes over 30 years’ experience in banking and investment banking in Australia, Japan and the U.S. He spent more than 20 years working with Citigroup in a variety of senior management roles globally, including as a Managing Director, and was also a Group Managing Director at Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Ltd. He is now a consultant at Rothschild Australia Ltd.

Roger is an experienced Board member of ASX listed companies and is currently a non-executive Director of Charter Hall Retail Ltd. He was previously a non-executive Director and Chairman of Bank of Queensland Ltd and Charter Hall Office REIT, and a non-executive Director of Ardent Leisure Ltd, The Trust Company Ltd and Aristocrat Leisure Ltd. He is Chairman of unlisted entities AIG Australia Limited and NSW Rugby Union.

Elizabeth Lewin

Non-executive Director (Independent) GAICD

Elizabeth Anne Lewin was appointed to the Board on 1 July 2018 and is currently a member of the Remuneration Committee.

She has over 25 years of international experience in the financial services sector, with an extensive background in wealth management, investment banking and superannuation as a director and a senior executive.

Her executive experience includes leading large investment banking and wealth management teams in Europe and Australia with UBS Wealth Management.

Elizabeth is also a Non-executive Director of Australian Chamber Orchestra.

Joycelyn Morton

Non-executive Director (Independent) BEc, FCA, FCPA, FIPA, FGIA, FAICD

Joycelyn Cheryl Morton joined the Board in 2012 and is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Joycelyn has an extensive financial background with particular expertise in taxation matters. She enjoyed a long and successful executive career, initially in chartered accounting, followed by senior management roles with Woolworths Ltd and global leadership roles in Australia and internationally within the Shell Group of companies, including Vice President, Accounting Services, based in the Netherlands. She has also held a variety of government and international advisory positions.

Joycelyn’s other current board positions are with Argo Global Listed Infrastructure Ltd, Beach Energy Ltd, Snowy Hydro Ltd and ASC Pty Ltd. She has valuable board experience across a range of industries, including previous roles as a non-executive director and Chair of Noni B Ltd and Thorn Group Ltd, and a non-executive director of Crane Group Ltd, Invocare Ltd and Count Financial Ltd.

Joycelyn holds a Bachelor of Economics degree from the University of Sydney and has completed a senior executive program at INSEAD Business School.

Jason Beddow

Managing Director BEng, GdipAppFin(SecInst)

Jason was appointed as Managing Director in February 2014, after 4 years as Chief Executive Officer. He has over 20 years’ experience in the investment industry, including 18 years with Argo.

After completing an engineering degree whilst working in the mining industry, Jason became a research analyst in the resources sector with Hartley Poynton and Deutsche Bank. He then moved to funds management in 2001 when he joined Argo as an investment analyst. He was appointed Chief Investment Officer of Argo in 2008 and Chief Executive Officer in 2010. He is also Managing Director of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure Ltd.